End of an era

So much has gone on in my FM24 Career, started so far down the English pyramid to get to where I am now. Down in the Surrey area to start a story where I wanted to take a club with roots in Woolwich, Dial Square was the perfect platform. Ran by Arsenal fans, they wanted to get the club back, and we started brilliantly, winning 2 titles in 2 seasons.

After the board stepped in, I found I couldn’t carry on with the job in hand, and parted company with the club. I wasn’t without a club where Matlock Town FC approached me to take rains. A club who has lived long in non-leagues wanted to take the next step.

In my 1st season, the plan was to get to know the club and the fans and build something the community would be proud of. Things went one better where we went on and won the league to bring my personal goal of 3 titles in 3 seasons.

The following season, in the highest league Matlock has been in, the vanarama national north, we did it again and shocked the league by winning that making 4 trophies.

This last season was the best ever in the national league, the media has us bottom at the start of the season. Going up against pro teams with better facilities, we had a job to do. What I can say is the team played with passion and proved everyone we can hang with the big boys. We only went on and completed the non league double, something Matlock has never done.

This season was important to the club as at the end of the season, they are turning professional and have plans in place for a new ground.

But there came a time when I needed a new challenge, and after knocking back Bolton in February, I saw a job so I went for it and got an interview, then a week later I was offered it. Even tho Matlock said they would offer a new deal, I did delay my decision but Matlock’s offer didn’t arrive in time. Please find my letter to the fans.

I have now taken my next step and joined Salford city FC, a team who last season was in the championship but now find themselves dropping down a league.

Please join me as I embark on the next step.

#FM24

One thought on “End of an era

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.